How Much Do You Sell Exclusive Rights For?

1. 4 years ago

LoonyBinBeats

14 Dec 2014 Power Contributor User since 2014 + 1461 RP

Being that this is my first year selling beats professionally, I've changed my website quite a few times. I was doing exclusives for $100 but noticed a lot of other producers were doing them for way more. Now that my site is gaining popularity I've changed my exclusive price to $400 is this too much? What is a good price to keep it at?

Make Offer is now available

This new feature has really brought in sales you might not normally get. We found by talking to producers that have used this feature that they have made sales by accepting offers. There are two ways you can setup a make offer

1. Make Offer (No Price)

-image-

This mode can be helpful by pushing the customer to make an offer without any price comparison. Customers are most likely try to get the best deal they can with this option, but if you agree with the price then you have yourself a sale.

2. Make Offer (Price)

-image-

This option has a default price and gives a customer a ballpark price to work on.

Additionally, you can add a reserve price where a user cannot lowball you. For example, you can set a price of $50 for the absolute lowest you can go with an offer. If a customer enters $20 they will see an automatic message saying it is below the reserve price.

Note: Many of you already aware of this feature, but this thread has been updated due to the many search engine hits

2. IsaacTaylor

14 Dec 2014 User since 2014 Nashville, Tn + 575 RP

It really boils down to what YOU feel that beat is worth. And honestly, I don't think all beats that are sold exclusively should be marked as the same price. That is unless you are selling an exclusive license rather than selling the beat out right. Also, how popular you are can make a HUGE difference on what you can sell your beats for.

3. [deleted]

14 Dec 2014 User since 1970