Message to "The Legion" Advice for a Future Producer

1. 3 years ago

Tristan

15 Jul 2015 User since 2015 San Francisco + 235 RP
    Edited 3 years ago by Tristan

First off, my name is Tristan and I'm way early in the music production world. I stumbled upon Soundgine literally on Stumbleupon. My question is for' @ThisIsTheLegion'

How long did it take you to gain the traction you have gained? And more importantly what have you done to stay on top.

There are a lot of people on this forum that are accomplished like' @OxygenBeats'' @bbotabasco'' @legendarybeatz' ...the list goes on, so don't feel like I'm disregarding other power houses in this forum.

2. ThisIsTheLegion

16 Jul 2015 User since 2015 Answer + 976 RP

Thanks' @Tristan', you definitely put me in good company with those other guys. I actually didn't really start selling beats online till a little over a year ago, but I've been producing and engineering for over 10 years. I got some decent credits where I'm from (Bay Area) and some credits outside The Bay, so I think the fact that I had kind of built up my brand that way helped when I took it online because some people had heard of me already.

Some things that have worked for me:

1. I love Soundgine for all the reasons everyone else does, but I also use other sites to sell beats. SoundClick has given me the most customers of any site. I use my soundgine player there (soundclick.com/thisisthelegion ). Soundclick ads are expensive, but I’ve gotten a huge return on investment there.

2. My beats with hooks sell way more than just instrumentals. This is actually the same way I was able to get a lot of placements. I usually don’t just play or send rappers beats, I give em beats with hooks that already sound like a great song. All they have to do is fill in the verses.