Starting a blog, worth it?

1. 9 months ago

hidingsounds

27 Aug 2018 User since 2018 + 74 RP

Hello fellow Soundginers,

Lately I have been having discussions with myself about blogs and the opportunity of starting one. I'm not 100% sure why I started this thread, maybe it was because I wanted to hear YOUR opinion on blogs and how they have maybe helped you (traffic to your site, growing following etc.). Here are some questions I had in mind when I was thinking about this:

What do you write about?

Do you write about production stuff or hip-hop scene in general? I think I have some good knowledge on the production aspect, but I have zero interest and knowledge in the hip-hop scene...

Has keeping a blog helped your business in meaningful way?

I have often stumbled upon some people who have wanted/needed help, and the feeling of helping them has given a lot of satisfaction for me personally. This is the main reason why I'm considering the blog, but I'm also interested if there would be any notable marketing-wise advantage. Thoughts?

How often do you make new posts? How do you find the balance between the essential (beat making etc) and the blog?

I know this is maybe very personal thing, but if you have something to share about your experience, please do!

You don't have to answer to each question (this is not a questionnaire). I'm just curious to hear your thoughts on blogs.

Thanks in advance!

2. Breeze

28 Aug 2018 User since 2015 London + 838 RP

Utilize blogs to target keywords that are not overpopulated.

For example if you create a beat with a goth 80's style mood write about it with the title "Goth 80's style beat". You'll probably be on the first page on Google since it's not a common keyword.

Get about 100 of these specialized keywords and watch the traffic come in.

3. Tone

28 Aug 2018 User since 2016 Florida USA + 771 RP

Yes, it's totally worth it.

Buy the blog from the Soundgine store and profit.