Copyright, royalties, leases, etc.

1. last year

powerup

11 Apr 2018 User since 2018 + 144 RP

Hey guys!

I'm new to Soundgine, and also new to the forum. Already got my website set up and some beats on it too. Gotta say that i chose Soungine because of the great support i saw on the forum and because of the updates and customer support too.

Well, let's get to the point:
    I recently got a placement with my country's biggest rapper, which lead me to work with a lot of upcoming artists and some established ones too.
    One of them is Big Soto, another pretty big and established rapper from a neighbor country, Venezuela.
    He wants one of my beats, ULTIMATE, that you can listen to in my beatstore. The problem is that his manager isn't ok with royalties splitting, so i'd go with asking for a good ammount of money to compensate royalties.
    The other day i found out about Audiam and how they could get me money from youtube plays, so i signed up with them and told Soto that if he gave me a good advance, i could give him non-exclusive rights to the beat and be ok with earning just ad income from YouTube.
    But i'm SO confused now, so i hope that you guys can help me a bit on this.
    -The beat is already registered on Audiam.
    -I want to be able to lease it multiple times, even after Soto's song is up on Spotify, Deezer, iTunes, etc etc (i know it's legally possible to do that, but i don't know how)
    -I want to STILL be the owner of my beat's copyright.

Some people says that i should register it on copyright.gov (i already got an account, in case i need it) and then sign up to BMI or ASCAP and give him a License...

I don't know, it's pretty confusing and shady at this point so i hope you guys can help me as fast as possible, cause he's waiting (gonna be in the studio in like 10 hours so yeah, i'm kind of rushed)

Thank you so much in advance!