Do I need a hosting service for my files?

1. last year

Liz Vega

6 Apr 2018 User since 2016 + 987 RP

Hi guys, finally i'm a pro member of soundgine, i still can't believe it lol
    To be honest i'm a little bit lost setting up everything, is not so easy as i thought, but i know i will able to do everything lol
    As i asked in the title do i need a hosting service for my files? i have to upload the zip folder of my stems and ofc is really big like 400mb, do i need an external service for that?
    Second question: How do you upload your tracks? i mean do you upload them as the single mp3 or as a zip folder with the mp3 or wav and the license inside?
    I'm really sorry for my dumb questions, but as i said i'm a little bit lost :/
    Cheers
    Liz

2. OHLY

6 Apr 2018 Administrator User since 2015 London - Los Angeles + 1221 RP

Hello :)

There is a 100MB limit for uploads so for your 400MB files, you'll need a separate service for that.
    Here are some discussions about it, although the threads a bit old, there might be a newer better option for files that large, hopefully other members can recommend a files service.

https://soundgine.com/forum/index.php/55-what-service-do-you-upload-trackouts-to
    https://soundgine.com/forum/index.php/516-file-storage-for-mix-outs-and-larger-files

Looks like you already figured how to upload files for each license :)

Once you find a method to host your 400MB files, enter the URL of that file here
    (see attached file)

3. Liz Vega

Hi' @OHLY' thanks for your reply, i really apprecciate your help. :)
    I thought i needed a service like dropbox or mediafire, but i wasn't sure. I've read all the discussions you linked me and it seems that mediafire offers the best deal, but 1tb? I mean i have 10 beats (with all the stems) to upload and the files are big, so i guess that i'll finish 1tb in a little time, is there any service out there that offer more space?